POLASA News, November 2016

      No Comments on POLASA News, November 2016

A well attended fourth POLASA Annual General Meeting took place on Monday 7 November 2016 at the Johannesburg Country Club.  The Chairman, Vincent Kanyongolo, presented a full report on the year’s activities which included better levels of contracts placed than for the past few years.

POLASA continues to achieve successes including building up trust within ESKOM as representing the industry fairly and competently on various aspects such as Safety, Training, Quality Assurance, Design, Technical, Construction, Contracting, etc.

The new POLASA Board was unanimously elected and  the positions of Chairman and Vice Chairman confirmed.   It gives me great pleasure to congratulate the following:

Chairman:
Vincent Kanyongolo
(082) 390-4106
vincent@dyambwini.co.za

Vice Chairman:
Sagren Moodley
(083) 635-4971
sagren@metpress.co.za

Board:
Peter Ramaite
(082) 522-4529
peter@ramagale.co.za

Gary Whalley
(082) 414-7996
gary.whalley@babcock.co.za

Robin Page
 (083) 254-6598
robin@trans-design.co.za

Nick van der Mescht
(083) 452-5093
nvdmescht@tricom1.co.za

Billy Oosthuizen
(082) 886-3451
billy@preformedsa.co.za

New Board member:

Zola Hlatshwayo
(082) 826-0919
systems@mkhulu-edp.co.za

A word of appreciation went to Marcello Lamperini of Mkhulu Electro Distribution Projects who served as Director for four years and who’se knowledge and participation can still be relied on by POLASA.

The AGM was again followed by an Open Industry meeting where many of the issues in the industry were raised and proposals considered for POLASA to action during the next year. A major issue and challenge is achieving the ESKOM Compact set for the industry to complete 520 Km of new lines by end March 2017 !   Detailed information was given on the designation of power lines and hardware and the implementation thereof.

POLASA Newsletter November 2016 PDF