POLASA News, November 2015

      No Comments on POLASA News, November 2015

A well attended third POLASA Annual General Meeting took place on Monday 9 November 2015 at the Johannesburg Country Club (Auckland Park).  The Chairman, Gary Whalley, presented a full report on the year’s activities which included better future prospects than for the past few years.

POLASA has to date achieved a number of successes including building up trust within ESKOM as representing the industry fairly and competently. Gary announced that he would be handing over the chairmanship after three years. He will continue to serve on the POLASA Board.

Gary was lauded from all quarters for his excellent work for POLASA and wished well with his promotion at Babcock.

A new POLASA Board was elected (who then appointed the new Chairman from their ranks) and it gives me great pleasure to announce the following:

Chairman: Vincent Kanyongolo     (082) 390-4106     vincent@dyambwini.co.za

Vice Chairman:  Sagren Moodley    (083) 635-4971     sagren@metpress.co.za

Re-elected Board members:

Mduduzi Mabaso   (082) 299-9952              mduduzi.mabaso@concogrp.com

Marcello Lamperini    (083) 443-9460         info.mkhulu@oribi.co.za

Peter Ramaite    (082) 522-4529                   peter@ramagale.co.za

Gary Whalley    (082) 414-7996                    gary.whalley@babcock.co.za

New Board members:

          Robin Page    (083) 254-6598                      robin@trans-design.co.za

Nick van der Mescht   (083) 452-5093        nvdmescht@tricom1.co.za

The AGM was followed by an open Industry meeting where many issues in the industry were raised and proposals considered for POLASA to action during the next year.  Special attention will be given to developing competitive local content as envisaged by the designation of power lines, power line hardware and associated products.

www.polasa.co.za

Queries:  Kobus de Beer, POLASA Secretariat  (kobus@saisc.co.za) or (011) 726-6111